Last night’s dinner was wonderful

Standard

It was a beautiful,although cloudy, day here in Wisconsin yesterday. The temperatures are finally starting to feel like spring – although i don’t want to jinx anything! On a normal day i find myself cleaning out the nooks and crannies that have gotten filled with things over the winter…where do they come from?? I suppose that’s the spring fever/spring cleaning, kicking in. 

My husband asked me last night if i was going to blog about the night I make hot dogs, or we just throw a frozen pizza in the oven. I had to laugh, because the answer is probably YES lol. I think that we all need nights where we don’t have to cook everything from scratch and we can just throw it in the oven, or reheat the leftovers and enjoy a meal without too much effort. I do have to admit that these meals in my home are not too often, but like last night, a lot of the things were not made from scratch. We had Chicken Parmesan and for once I did not make the pasta (I would normally spend the day making enough for a few dinners) and the marinara is my favorite bottled stuff with a few extras added in. But that’s OK, we still feel like we ate a homemade meal, and I didn’t have to work all day to make it.

Tonight is one of those nights where we are having “comfort food” and probably in front of the TV. I know,I know, that’s not good for us…but hey, we are a normal family and like to sit on the floor in the living room, in front of the tv, watching a cooking show while we eat simple “not so good for us”, food. Oh, it’s tacos for my hubby and Rachael and I will have loaded nachos. I will make some chicken breast meat with spices and chop it all up, load it on nachos on a cookie sheet, topped with Mexican and cheddar cheeses and then when they come out of the oven, we add, lettuce and salsa (and I like sour cream on mine too). but I digress…here are the photos from last nights dinner…from what was bought, to what the plates looked like….enjoy!

The essentials

chicken parm 001

The meat pounded out between cling wrap, ready for egg and seasoned panko crumbs ( I just use an Italian blend of seasonings and add it in with S&P)

chicken parm 002

Into the frying pan in olive oil, a few pieces at a time

chicken parm 003

and nice a browned

chicken parm 004

Topped with cheese and into the oven

chicken parm 005

A little angel hair pasta

chicken parm 006

And of course the marinara sauce

chicken parm 007

And finally the finished meal on Rachael’s plate!

chicken parm 008

I hope you all have a great day and enjoy whatever weather you are having today…good or bad, it’s here for a reason! I might just slip in a few photos from tonight’s comfort meal…you never know!! And as always, ❤ much love ❤

4 thoughts on “Last night’s dinner was wonderful

    • I think anything made in a kitchen, with love, and then enjoyed with the ones closest to us is always good. Oh, and btw, I love Salisbury steak. Do you make it from scratch? and if so, can you send me the recipe? I would love to make it myself, but I had never had it when i was in Canada, so it is a new food to me. Most of them have mushrooms in the gravy, and I am HIGHLY allergic, so I have to substitute them all the time. I would appreciate a recipe that is tried and true, if you have one!

  1. That looks good. I am always trying to find new ways to make chicken and I think I am going to try this one. Looks easy and not time consuming

Leave a comment