A Wonderful Easter :)

Standard

I think when I get very busy, I get so involved with cooking, baking and of course cleaning up the house for company, that i forget about the Internet. not such a bad thing, but the last weekend from Good Friday till now, has been hectic. We go out for fish on Good Friday, do the shopping that’s necessary on Saturday and try and get to church on time, then I start the ham and such early on Sunday and have the family in at around 3 pm. The amount of people has dwindled over the years, but it’s always nice to have the kids, their girlfriends, my mother in law and of course myself and my husband, all sitting around the same table for a special meal – I wish we could do every Sunday! I took a few photos of  some of the food I made this past weekend…from scalloped potatoes, homemade dinner rolls, the ham covered with pineapple and maraschino cherries, to the new dessert I thought I would try (Double lemon cheesecake bars)…they were wonderful! I also made brussel sprouts, corn, and mashed potatoes (but I didn’t see the need to post those!) So now I will share some photos with you….

I had to cover the bottom and sides of the 9 x 13 pan with foil…for easy removal and cutting…

Easter dinner 001

The first layer of the dessert is vanilla wafers and melted butter…

Easter dinner 002 Easter dinner 003

Add the melted butter…

Easter dinner 004

Softened cream cheese, lemons (both zest and juice), ready for the mixer…

Easter dinner 005

In they go, with sugar, flour and vanilla…

Easter dinner 006

Press the wafers into the pan, and get into the oven for 10mins….

Easter dinner 007

The filling is very creamy when it’s ready

Easter dinner 008

Pour the filling over the cooked wafer bottom, and cook..

Easter dinner 009

It looked puffy when it came out….and on the day of, I covered this with homemade lemon curd…they were delicious

Easter dinner 010

Now, make the scalloped potatoes…

Easter dinner 012 Easter dinner 013

Into the oven…

Easter dinner 014

All cooked….

Easter dinner 015

Hot and ready for the fridge till the “day of”

Easter dinner 016

Rise the buns….

Easter dinner 017

Into the oven…

Easter dinner 018

Out, and brush with butter…they smell delicious!

Easter dinner 019

Easter Sunday, and everything getting ready to go into the oven to be warmed up…

Easter dinner 023

Cover the ham with pineapple and cherries, and cook (I added some pineapple juice in the bottom too)

Easter dinner 024

My table before company arrived (I prefer not to take photos of people when they are eating…or to post them on the Internet either…so this is it for the dinner!)

Easter dinner 025

I also cannot have Easter morning without an Easter egg hunt in the house…always little chocolate foil wrapped ones, all over the place…here are 2 photos of a couple of the eggs (our 15yr old had fun looking for them, although these are really out in the open!)

Easter dinner 021

Easter dinner 020

And Easter isn’t the same without a beautiful Easter lily…

Easter lilleis and steak dinner 003

I hope that no matter what you did, or what you celebrated, or who you were with, that you enjoyed every moment of it…we are not promised tomorrow, so we have to enjoy today and make the most out of it. Have a great day, and as always ❤ much love ❤

Leave a comment